Why Become Certified

There are many reasons to obtain an official IIA certification designation. Whether it's the hallmark designation of internal audit - the Certified Internal Auditor® (CIA®) designation - or one of the three specialty industry certifications, obtaining a certification is professionalism defined.

Six Steps to Earning a Certification in Internal Auditing

Below are the six steps an internal auditor should review when making the decision to become certified in the profession.

Step 1: Decide Which Certification Is Right for You

The IIA's Certified Internal Auditor® (CIA®) certification is the only globally accepted designation for internal auditors. It is a four-part exam that remains the standard by which individuals demonstrate their comprehensive competence and professionalism in the internal auditing field.

The IIA also offers three specialty certifications: 1. Certification in Control Self-Assessment® (CCSA®); 2. Certified Government Auditing Professional® (CGAP®); and 3. Certified Financial Services Auditor® (CFSA®). Individuals may choose to take a specialty exam as credit for Part IV of the CIA exam or individuals who do not meet the CIA program education and experience eligibility requirements may wish to take one of the specialty certifications, which are one-part exams.

Step 2: Determine Your Eligibility and Skill Level

Each of The IIA certification programs has unique and specific education eligibility requirements that a candidate must meet to take the exam. In addition, you may want to assess your skill level by taking a practice test using the sample questions on the Web site. Although your score on a practice test will not necessarily indicate what your score would be on a certification exam, a practice test may assess your readiness and lets you know in what areas you need improvement.

Step 3: Register for the Exam

The IIA's certification exams are now offered through computer-based testing, year-round at more than 500 locations worldwide.

Step 4: Prepare for the Exam

You determine the method(s) in which you need to prepare for the exam. We provide you with a list of available resources for your consideration.

Step 5: Take the Test
CIA practice tests

With the transition to computer-based testing (CBT), The IIA's certification exams are administered through the worldwide network of Pearson VUE Testing Centers. The Pearson VUE network increases the availability of the exam from approximately 250 exam sites to over 500 exam sites.

Step 6: Receive Your Certificate

Once you have passed the exam and met all other program requirements, your certificate will be issued to your local IIA institute for distribution.

Not sure where to begin? Read through these six steps on how to start off on your trail to certifications with The IIA.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) About Certification

Do you have questions about IIA certifications? If so, read through some common questions, and their answers, regarding The IIA's Certified Internal Auditor® (CIA®) exam and specialty exams.

Do I have to be a member of The IIA to take any of the certification exams or become certified?

No. An individual does not have to be a member of The IIA to take the certification exams or to become certified.

How do I study for the exams?

A variety of study materials are available through The IIA or from third-party vendors for each exam.

Am I required to take/pass a specific number of parts for the CIA exam?

No, candidates may take/pass one exam part at a time or all four exam parts at once. However, a candidate will lose credit for any exam parts previously passed if the candidate does not take a single exam part within a two-year period from their last exam date.

I want to attain the CIA certification, but I don' t have the two year' s internal auditing work experience. Can I still sit for the exam?

Yes, you can sit for the exam prior to satisfying your experience requirement. However, you will not be certified until your work experience, and all other requirements, have been met.

General Questions About Certification

Included in this section are questions pertaining to exam policies and procedures as well as questions specific to the three specialty exams.

Questions Specific to the Certified Internal Auditor (CIA) Exam

Is your question specific to the Certified Internal Auditor (CIA) exam? Visit this section for questions pertaining exclusivley to the CIA exam.

Read some of the frequently asked questions we receive about IIA certifications and exams. These valuable questions and answers can also help those auditors looking for a little more information on a specific area.